New to Radix Fidem?

Visit the Introduction and User Guide thread to get acquainted with us.

Automatic registration is currently closed. Please email admin@radixfidem.org if you'd like to register for the forum.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Noahide Law
At some point when explaining God's covenant with all humanity through the Noahide Law Covenant, I will be asked to support my position with Scripture. I'll need to because, I'm dealing with Westernized Christians. The image of tilling the soil is a recurring  theme that comes to me. If I get the go ahead to teach a class, my subject will be Law Covenants in the Bible. The idea has been simmering for at least the last year and I've been taking notes for the entire time. I just need to organize them into coherence. I have plenty of experience teaching Sunday School for Adults, young adults and little'uns. It's all in the Lord's hands now and prayers are always appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Way back in my blog archives I covered this in a whole series. Here's the shortest installment to get you started:

Quote:In the past, when discussing the Covenent of Noah, I've been told by a few people I must be making this up. Actually, this is something entirely solid in Hebrew history. Even under the mistaken notions of the Talmud, Jewish scholars today recognize it as quite ancient. I usually don't care much for the way Wikipedia covers things, but this one is rather well done: Seven Laws of Noah.
  1. Prohibition of Idolatry: You shall not have any idols before God.

2. Prohibition of Murder: You shall not murder. (Genesis 9:6)

3. Prohibition of Theft: You shall not steal.

4. Prohibition of Sexual Promiscuity: You shall not commit any of a series of sexual prohibitions, which include adultery, incest, bestiality and male homosexual intercourse.

5. Prohibition of Blasphemy: You shall not blaspheme God's name.

6. Dietary Law: Do not eat flesh taken from an animal while it is still alive. (Genesis 9:4)